Lisa Bruemmer

Name: Lisa Bruemmer

Website Link: www.treeandkimball.etsy.com

Where are you located? Philadelphia, PA

Tell us a bit about yourself: After working as an apparel designer at Anthropologie for a little over four years, I have just recently left my job in order to focus on my jewelry business. I am a lover of all things vintage & storied… some of my favorite finds are: a well-worn Russian book of nursery rhymes, a hand-carved portrait of a woman on a piece of scrap wood, and an antique crochet lace blouse. I inherited my craftiness from a long line of quilters, tatters, embroiderers, & seamstresses. I’m originally from Ohio, currently live in Philly with my fiancé & precious pup, aspire to see every corner of the world, and to live in a few of them too!

When and why did you begin creating your jewelry/art? I started making jewelry about a year and a half ago – just as a little something to occupy my creative energy after my day job. I have always loved & collected lace – my Great Aunt Marg was an incredible tatter & I was blessed with part of her collection when she passed away. Although none of her actual pieces have made it into my Etsy shop (they are tucked away safe & sound!), they got me thinking about how I love the juxtaposition of delicate against tough — in this case, lace against metal. I tinkered around, made my sister & some close friends some pieces & voila, I was in love. I’ve been keeping at it ever since.

What do you make? I make necklaces & earrings out of vintage lace & findings.

What materials and methods do you use? I use vintage lace, vintage glass beads, & antiqued chain.

Where do your design inspirations come from? I am inspired by so many things & people… some of the necklaces in my shop have been inspired by & named after those closest to me. Beyond that, I look to nature & all of the amazing vintage bits & baubs I have surrounded myself with… their well-loved looks always put me in a happy place!

What is your best working environment/where is your studio? My studio is nestled in a cheery little corner of my house, stuffed to the brim with all of the things I love. I have everything I need at my fingertips, either tucked away in a charming little cabinet that my grandfather made, or lined up along my favorite wall in the room – it’s covered in lovely lace wallpaper by British artist Louise Body. With sunshine streaming in through the windows & my little pup, Atlas, keeping me company, I’m at my best.

Where can your products be seen? In my Etsy shop & on my Facebook page.     Also, my jewelry can be found at Vagabond Boutique in Philly, The Little Apple in Manayunk. White Elephant Boutique in Ontario, and Tedda Hughes in San Francisco.

Upcoming events: I will be participating in the next Punk Rock Flea market to be held in Philly later this month! It’s always a great time.

Magazine articles or press:
ohjoy.blogs.com ruffledblog.com katyelliott.com theuniformproject.com

Who are you a fan of? Elinart, Spinthread, Laura Lombardi, Miss Amy Phipps, Wondercabinet, Debeaux Souvenirs, Lapomme, Elsita, Enhabiten, Liarock… all on Etsy!

Price Range: $18 -30

Tell us a little about one of your favorite creations:
Of what’s currently in my shop, it would have to be the Corinne necklace – it’s named for my dear aunt, and I love the tiny faceted leafy green beads.

1 Comment

Filed under accessories, Artisans, Arts, Beadwork, Clothing, Crafts, Gifts, Jewelry, Shopping, World

One response to “Lisa Bruemmer

  1. angelyn krauss

    Beautiful work; I never really saw this up close and personal before! I want some! Thank you for sharing your work and your comments. I will look for your work on the places you have noted. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

