Lynda Andrews-Barry

Name: Lynda Andrews-Barry

Website Linkhttp://lyndaandrews-barry.com

Where are you located?  Kensington, Maryland, four miles outside of Washington, DC

Tell us a bit about yourself:  I am originally from Berkeley, California, but moved to Maryland when I was in high school.  I have a degree in interior design and worked as a project architect for 9 years before attending metal school in Baltimore. I have been making jewelry for about ten years now, and i love it. I live in a 110-year-old renovated farm house with my high school sweet heart (who is now my husband) and my fantastic black labrador, Oto. I love living in the Washington DC area! It is a beautiful, friendly city (despite what you hear on talk radio) with a thriving arts community.

When and why did you begin creating your jewelry/art?  I believe I sold my first box of Crayon-colored rocks door to door when I was about 6. I thought they were cool and that is the same reason I make jewelry.

What do you make? I make pretty things.

What materials and methods do you use?  I am currently working on two completely different lines of jewelry. “Herban Elements” are a collection of natural forms cast in sterling silver and electroformed in copper. On my daily walks with my dog I collect flowers, weeds, seeds, pods and other interesting natural and found objects. I electroform my finds in copper or cast them in sterling silver and then create jewelry from the new metal parts. Finally, I add textures, patinas and sometimes oil paints to my pieces.  My other work is a grouping of kiln-fired enamels, “high contrast.”  My work in enamel was inspired by me receiving a kiln for Christmas and thus feeling obligated to use it. “High Contrast” are brilliant three-dimensional shapes I cut with dies I make myself using my 20 ton hydraulic press. Sometimes I incorporate vintage stampings into my work. I solder the appropriate sterling silver finding to each piece and then sift the chosen color of glass enamel over it. Every color is kiln fired separately at 1520 degrees.

Where do your design inspirations come from?  I am inspired by everything and anything, or sometimes nothing. I keep a sketch pad with me or I use my Iphone to take photos of stuff, so when nothing happens I am ready. I really have enough ideas to keep me busy for more time than I have in this life, though.

oak bud toggle

oak bud toggle

What is your best working environment/where is your studio? I love my studio! My studio is the basement level of our house: It is bright and organized and big. It has everything I need to make things happen… or watch TV.

Where can your products be seen?  lyndaandrews-barry.com,   designoptions.etsy.com, herbanelements.etsy.com  and Dawanda

Upcoming events:  December 5-22 Washington DC downtown holiday market in front of the National Portrait Gallery. Check my website for exact times: my newsletter/calendar.

Magazine articles or pressWashington Post express featureEtsy Storque spotlight, Etsy Feature:fresh shops  diycitymag.net feature and contributer

Who are you a fan of? The ancient African cultures, especially Nigeria; the ancient Greeks and Romans; the Dutch masters; Michaelangelo; Leonardo; Louis Sullivan; Ettori Sottsass; Angston Hughes; Andi Warhol; my parents; Prince; Barack Obama

Price range: $18-$3400

Tell us a little about one of your favorite creations:  I love this ring because I found the coneflower seed head in my garden. the plant produces lovely magenta flowers each summer, but I had no idea there was this amazing form left over in the fall. After electroforming it in copper, I set it on a ring shank I formed from a tulip poplar tree stamen I cast in sterling silver.

Anything else you wish to add here?  Thank you for noticing my work!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artisans, Arts, Gifts, Jewelry, Metal Work, Shopping, World

Leave a Reply

