Ben Orron – Organic Mechanics

Name: Ben Orron

Website Link: www.organic-mechanics.com

Tell us a bit about yourself:
I’m 23 years old and just moved to Longmont, CO.  I went to the University of Vermont, where I studied Environmental Science, Plant and Soil Science, and Community Development in addition to studio art. 

When did you start designing jewelry/art?  I started designing jewelry in December 2005.

What do you make?  I make wire-wrapped pendants, rings, earrings, bracelets, and other more unusual pieces of jewelry such as a recently made, collaborative four-finger ring.  I also plan on incorporating more traditional/soldering techniques into my work in the coming months.

What materials and methods do you use?  I use sterling, fine, and Argentium silver wire and 18k yellow, green and rose gold wire from 30-14 gauge.  My stones are all untreated, precious and semi-precious crystals and cut gemstones.  The vast majority of my work is done by wire wrapping with no use of heat or solder.  For tools, I occasionally use a vice, but mostly work with my hands or a pair of pliers.

Where do your design inspirations come from?  A lot of my inspiration comes from my materials themselves, that is, the stones and wire.  I try to design my pieces to best display the crystals in the piece, so my designs are a reflection of my interpretation of the stones’ colors, shapes, textures, and energies.  I enjoy melding the rigidity of the crystals paired with the fluidity of the wire to create a flowing, yet precise finished piece.

What is your best working environment/where is your studio?  I actually do a lot of work on the road, or on the couch in my living room, but I am very excited about putting together my first real studio space in the next few weeks at my new house in the garage that will be equipped for silver and goldsmithing.  I like to be in a calm, focused environment with little distraction, and good music is always needed.

Where can your products be seen?  www.organic-mechanics.com

I also show my work at many arts and music festivals such as Rothbury, Allgood, Camp Bisco, and others.

Upcoming events:  My next events are Sound Tribe Sector 9 at Red Rocks, CO on September 8-9, the Rocky Mountain Crystallization Festival in Denver on September 12-13, and the Tuscon Gem and Jam in January.

Who are you a fan of?  I am a big fan of sculpture Anish Kapoor, painters Alex Gray, Rhett Johnson, Kris D, and the jewelry of Ser, Tyler Kahn, John Ebert, and many others.

Price range: $40-$2500

Tell us a little about one of your favorite creations:

One of my favorite pieces is my first collaborative piece of art.  John Ebert and myself made a four-finger ring this August that is truly unlike anything else I’ve and is something I’d wanted to create for a long time.  This piece has fourteen different crystals and faceted gems and is wrapped in sterling, fine, and Argentium silver.  There are around 100 hours of work in the piece and it is just the first of a series of future collaborative efforts between John and I.

bumby knuckles

bumpy knuckles

Very beautiful and unique ways to enjoy the beauty of gemstones. Thank you for this interview.

1 Comment

Filed under Artisans, Jewelry, Metal Work, Wirewrap, World

One response to “Ben Orron – Organic Mechanics

  1. wow, this artist does some really cool stuff!

Leave a Reply

